Hardware: Raspberry Pi configuration

So the joysticks are out of stock and it looks like it’ll be a few weeks before they’re back in. Things are kind of on hold as those are a bit of a gating item. Until I get joysticks, I’ll just look for 2-player games where both players can play at the same time (not have to take turns). I’ve debated a couple times about just looking for two old game controllers online, but the more I think about it the more I’d like to just build my own controllers as the physical building process is what I want to expose my son to. The software stuff is still over is head (we had a rather lengthy discussion of what a “file” is), but he understands a simple circuit and older controllers (pretty much everything before the NES, so like 1st and 2nd generation consoles) are basically just a group of simple circuits.

Here’s the rest of my setup:

  • 512MB Model B Raspberry Pi overclocked to 900Mhz.
  • 42″ TV for my monitor with an HDMI connection. I know, I know it’s “only” a 42″ TV, but it fits the location.
  • Logitech k400 Keyboard – I have a few keyboards already, but I’ve been wanting this one for awhile. My current wireless keyboard is full-sized and between that and the mouse it’s more than a bit cumbersome when you’re on the couch. I got it on sale for $30 even though I think that’s a bit crazy as the computer cost less than $50 including tax and shipping. There’s a lot of forum posts that say they’ve had issues with this keyboard. My only issue was some of the shift-symbols on the numbers would revert to UK settings (like ” instead of @). This only happened when I’d swap between a traditional keyboard and the wireless keyboard. An extra reboot would straighten it out though. Also, I haven’t used the USB dongle or the keyboard on any other computers (which causes some people problems). I figured if I had issues with it on the Raspberry Pi, I’d either return it or just use it for my desktop, but I haven’t had any problems at all since I’ve stopped swapping keyboards.
  • Lego case similar to this one – My colors aren’t all red as we just used what we had. When I did the base, I just made something that’s 9×13 and built up from there.
  • Blackberry charger for my power source (5v, 700mA).
  • SanDisk 32GB Ultra UHS-1 Micro SD card with Noobs installed on it. — and from this post, it looks like I could have just went with a much cheaper and better performing card.
  • I’m using the traditional Ethernet port, not Wifi.

I’m going to keep track of how much this rig costs me at the end of the day. I’m not going to count the wireless keyboard as it was really unnecessary. I’m also not counting anything that I didn’t have to purchase (stuff laying around the house).

So far I’m at $43.93 for the Pi from Element14 and $28.73 for the SD card from Staples (thought I had an extra one laying around, but can’t seem to find one that’s not in a camera). $72.66

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

