Games: What I’m looking for and reviewing

I’ve had a chance to mess with a few arcade games. The MAME list seems to be a bit hit-or-miss (e.g. can’t play Donkey Kong, but can play Donkey Kong Jr.).  I’ve decided to focus on these types of games:

  • Two-player games where both players can play at the same time.
  • Games that only require a joystick and only two buttons (so pretty much everything NES and before).
  • My kid is 5 so nothing that’s too “I’m playing a person and he’s killing stuff with guns and knives”…like Contra or River City Ransom (although saying that I did play the heck out of those games, but I was about twice his age).

I’ll document each game in a separate post under the “Games” category. If anyone is reading this and has a recommendation, it’d be greatly appreciated.

Some off the top of my head:

  • Mario Brothers
  • Super Mario Brothers
  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (debating if this falls into the “kid too young” category, its not like he doesn’t have plenty of other options)
  • Donkey Kong Jr. Math
  • Robotron
  • Spy vs Spy
  • Gauntlet
  • Bubble Bobble
  • Chip n Dale
Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

